Record number of entrants for Social Entrepreneur of the Year competition

Never before have so many organisations fought to be crowned Social Entrepreneur of the Year. “It is pleasing to see that new solutions are being targeted at many different types of social challenge”, comments Johan H. Andresen, chair of the jury.

Text: Irina Lee

Social Entrepreneur of the Year is a prestigious award given to a social entrepreneur that has developed exceptionally great potential to solve social challenges in Norway. In selecting the winner, the jury attach weight to organisations’ innovativeness, double bottom line and growth potential.

“The winner has to offer a new and innovative solution that creates real benefits, and ideally these are measurable. The solution should have the potential to be developed such that it can be efficiently rolled out to many people in order to create economic value for sustainable growth”, comments John H. Andresen, the owner of Ferd and the chair of the jury.

The whole of Norway
An impressive 88 applicants had entered the competition by the deadline of 1 September 2016.

“There have been several encouraging developments. First, the number of participants is at a record high. Secondly, the whole of Norway is represented – organisations from every county apart from one have entered the competition”, explains Johan H. Andresen.

The jury that chooses who will be the Social Entrepreneur of the Year is new every year, and this year Johan H. Andresen is accompanied by the following: Sissel Karlsen, Managing Director of Grants at the DNB Savings Bank Foundation, Christian Ringes, CEO of Eiendomssspar and Victoria Eiendom, Vibeke Hammer Madsen, CEO of the Enterprise Federation of Norway, and Truls Nordby Johansen, the founder of Gammel Nok, which was crowned Social Entrepreneur of the Year last year.

The five organisations nominated for the award this year will be announced on 10 October 2016, while the winner will be unveiled at the SosEnt conference in Oslo on 26 October 2016. The Social Entrepreneur of the Year is awarded NOK 500,000, while the other four nominees each receive NOK 50,000.

For more information, visit

Previous winners:
2015: Gammel Nok
2014: Monsterbedriften
2013: Epleslang        
2012: Lyk-z & døtre
2011: Noen AS
2010: Forandringsfabrikken

A longer version of this article is available in Norwegian in the Ferd Magazine by clicking here.

Subscribe to publications

If you would like to receive the Ferd Magazine (Norwegian) and/or annual and six-monthly reports when they are available, please complete the form below .

Financial reports
News thru rss
Post Email
First name *
Last name *
Company *
Email *
Address *
Postal code / City *
* Required fields


If you wish to cancel your subscription, please send an e-mail to

All information will be treated in confidence. For further information please see Ferd's privacy policy.